Thursday, November 21, 2013

Understanding Fine Jewelry

What's the difference between a ruby and a sapphire? How many types of pearls are there? If you're dazzled but bewildered by all the beautiful stones on the market, here's a quick guide to further your understanding of fine jewelry.

Shop for a quality diamond by remembering the four Cs: Carat, clarity, color and cut. Diamonds are delicate beauties, so if even one of these areas are sub-par, the whole piece will be, too. Never buy a diamond without asking to examine it through magnification, which will highlight any flaws invisible to the naked eye.

Color and luster are the key aspects of choosing a good pearl. Color, of course, because there are a dozen different types of pearls harvested worldwide, and depending on their region of origin they can be anything from a light ivory to a deep blue. Luster, meanwhile, is defined as a pearl's glow, which is a critical factor in determining its value.

The symbol of love, passion and power, blood-red rubies have been revered throughout history as one of nature's most evocative gems. You'll make a statement with a ruby, both by wearing one or giving it as a gift. This isn't the stone of half-hearted emotion.

Like rubies, sapphires have a long and culturally significant history. They also share many similar properties, both of them being semi-precious stones. That said, you can tell them apart by sheen, cut and color, especially if the sapphire is allowed to stay its rich, natural blue. Visit a jeweler like to learn more.

No comments:

Post a Comment

How to Use Healing Crystal Necklaces

A crystal is a solid material whose components are arranged in a highly ordered microscopic structure that forms a crystal lattice extend...